In between the rain

Somebody said it was going to rain…again. It seemed like a good idea in yesterday’s sunshine to go and have a look at the water  whilst the way was still clear. Good job I had the faithful wellies in the car boot.

Looking for one type of water involved circumnavigating another type. These are  pictures of the footpath.

I almost gave up at this point. It was impossible to guess how deep the water might be. I was minded of a time some years ago when, taking an ill-advised walk at Stanpit Marsh, I returned home minus one piece of footwear. At least there were people around to snigger then. Yesterday, I was alone in the woods wondering how long it would take for someone to notice I was missing in action should I become stuck. Really, what was the point?

Here’s the point of it all. Finally emerging onto the wetlands that border our lovely location, I was quite taken aback by the calm. Just me and a few startled birds.

If I might be so bold…take nothing for granted. Go and have another look. It doesn’t matter how many times I see this, I never fail to be overwhelmed by what’s on our doorsteps in Upton.

 

Then rush back indoors before it starts raining again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In between the rain

  1. Enjoyed the scenery. Don’t forget to remind your readers to click on the pictures to see them enlarged in all their glory.

Leave a Reply

